Back to Composition

Suite (2013) for solo piano

commissioned by the Stecher and Horowitz Foundation for Anna Han

I. Prelude
II. Chant
III. Fugue
IV. Finale

The Prelude features mostly quiet yet sweeping scale-like gestures with changing meters and a playful wit. The second movement, Chant, features a lilting swing in 6/8 creating a hushed and intimate atmosphere. The final two movements snap us out of the inward world featuring more lively contrapuntal writing in the Fugue and a frenzied and outgoing Finale. The work was commissioned by the Stecher and Horowitz and premiered in NYC by Anna Han in 2013.

Subscribe to Newsletter

© Michael Brown, All Rights Reserved. Site by ycArt design studio